< All Topics

ServSafe Certification


One NOCAC employee must have ServSafe Level 2 Managerial certificate for each facility that has a standalone kitchen.



  1. Level 1 ServSafe certification is the minimum needed for a NOCAC cook position.
  2. Effective March 1, 2017 the State of Ohio Food Code REQUIRES that every food service operation in the State of Ohio have at least one manager who has a Level 2 Certification in Food Safety.
  3. This does not need to be the supervisor of the site.  This can be the head cook.
  4. If you are the head cook in a supervisory role of the kitchen, you must maintain a Level 2 Managerial certification.
  5. Nutrition Aide must complete ServSafe Level 1 to be considered as the “Person in Charge”.


Forms and Additional Guidance:

This policy complies with the following

Head Start Program Performance Standard:    
ODJFS Child Care Manual:    
CACFP Regulation:    
Caring for Our Children:    
Other Sources:   Ohio Department of Health 3701-21-25
Effective Date:     Reviewed Date:   6/17/22
Approved By Policy Council:     Revision Approved By Policy Council:    
Table of Contents